There is no country with a more pressing need to adopt the circular economy than Taiwan.

 

In Taiwan, more than 90% of energy, fertiliser, and animal feed, and over 60% of food relies on imports. This continual dependence on imports of large amounts of energy and raw materials, as well as the waste that is created and discarded in manufacturing, does great damage to the environment. In this kind of industrialized economic model, prices and supply and demand are likely to fluctuate, making it difficult to balance continual economic growth and environmental consciousness. If we do not change the linear economy model of mining, manufacturing, and disposing, not only will it affect our competitiveness in the global market, it could pose a threat to national security.

 

In the past, we have always tried to tackle the problems caused by the linear economy, one issue at a time, through technology and management. In the linear mindset, we are often limited to thinking of solutions within the framework of the linear economy, thinking of new technological answers without tackling the root of the problem. With each new technological advancement to solve a problem, we create a host of other problems, much like searching for remedies for the symptoms rather than searching for the underlying nature of the disease.

The design of the circular economy takes into account economic activity, local employment opportunities, environmental ecology, and energy development. It gives Taiwan an opportunity to turn around, and an opportunity for everyone to reimagine the future. This is a chance for Taiwan to transform, to decouple resource consumption from economic growth, to surpass the competition, and even participate in designing the regulations of global economic development.

 

2035,

 

What kind of Taiwan will we leave behind for the next generation?

 

The most important reform for Taiwan over the next two decades is the development of a planned, systematic way to implement circular economic thinking, so the next generation can create a new economic system and build a Circular Taiwan that is zero-waste and zero-pollution.

 

Founder of Taiwan Circular Economy Network, Charles Huang

Taiwan Circular Economy Network

4F, No 97, Jingye 1st Rd. 104 Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan

+886 988-158-667

 

  • Facebook Clean

© 2019 by Taiwan Circular Economy Network

沒有一個國家,

比台灣更迫切需要採行循環再生的經濟發展思維

台灣90%以上的能源、肥料、飼料,以及60%以上的食物仰賴進口。持續倚賴進口大量能源、原物料,再加工生產外銷,而製造過程的廢棄物則隨意棄置,任由環境被污染破壞。這樣的工業化經濟模式,在資源供需與價格大幅波動之際,難以持續創造就業並兼顧環境生態。若不改變線性經濟(Linear Economy)開採、製造、使用後隨意棄置廢棄物的做法,不僅喪失在全球市場競爭的條件,連國家安全都將出現問題。

過去,我們一直在嘗試解決線性經濟造成的問題,但往往只針對單一問題、透過技術與管理找出答案。受限於線性的思維,經常只是在自己的領域或框架內找出最新的技術,沒有弄清楚問題的本質,導致每創造一個新技術、解決問題的同時,帶來了更多的新問題,形成頭痛醫頭、腳痛醫腳的現象,總是無法根本性、系統性地解決問題。

循環經濟的設計思維,能兼顧經濟活動、在地就業、環境生態及能源自主的發展,將帶給台灣翻轉的機會,讓每個人有機會重新想像未來。這是改造台灣的一次契機,讓台灣和資源脫鉤,超越競爭,甚至參與制定未來全球經濟發展的規則。

二〇三五年,

我們留給下一個世代的什麼樣的台灣?

有系統、有規劃地實踐循環經濟的發展思維,為下一代打造一個零廢棄與零污染的循環台灣,重新規劃經濟發展模式,正是台灣下個二十年最重要的改革。這條路上,沒有人是旁觀者,產業、政府、學界、媒體、社會運動者,人人都是主角。讓我們以新的成長模式,一起締造包容性的台灣。

循環台灣基金會創辦人 ​黃育徵 Charles Huang

循環台灣基金會

最新消息與活動

最新消息

活動專區

財團法人資源循環台灣基金會

Taiwan Circular Economy Network

10462 台北市中山區敬業一路97號4樓

+886 988-158-667

info@circular-taiwan.org

 

保持聯繫

聯絡表單

社群媒體

電子報

訂閱

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2018 by Taiwan Circular Economy Network